Saturday, July 25, 2015

SIAC Predictions: Albany State's Small and Washington Named SIAC's Top Players; Albany State and Tuskegee Tabbed to Win East and West


It’s not hard to see where Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference coaches see where a lot of the league’s talent is coming from.

Last season’s top offensive player, Albany State running back Jarvis Small, and the the conference’s top tackler, teammate Tavaris Washington, were named the SIAC’s preseason offensive and defensive players of the year.

They lead an Albany State team that saw nine players picked for the preseason All-Conference team and was picked to win the SIAC West Division race this season.  

Small led the SIAC in rushing last season with 1,196 yards while running for 13 touchdowns.   Washington, a longtime defensive star for the Golden Rams, led the SIAC with 93 tackles, 17.5 behind the line of scrimmage.

Last year’s SIAC champs, Tuskegee, also placed nine players on the All-Conference team and were picked to win another SIAC East title in 2015. 

The SIAC's second best defense from last year has six players on the first or second All-Conference team, including the Golden Tigers leading returning tackler in Osband Thompson. Thompson had 80 tackles in a year he was named the SIAC Freshman of the Year. 

Central State, a team that won only three conference games in 2014, had nine players chosen for the preseason squad and was picked by coaches to finish fourth in the SIAC West. 

Here is the full All-SIAC Preseason All-Conference teams and the predicted order of finish:

Pre-Season Offensive Player of the Year
Jarvis Small (Albany State)

Pre-Season Defensive Player of the Year 
Tavarius Washington (Albany State)

Josh StraughanStillmanQBMonqavious JohnsonMorehouse
Jarvis SmallAlbany StateRBOtis BrownFort Valley State
Jonathan ClarkMilesRBIsaiah GroomsCentral State
Drelon FreemanFort Valley StateWRChristopher MurrayCentral State
Marquel GardnerTuskegeeWRDevon MannMorehouse
Zach ThomasCentral StateTELeonard WalkerAlbany State
D'Mon TuckerLaneOLKenneth AverhartAlbany State
Javoris WilburnAlbany StateOLDevin RadcliffeCentral State
Tyree BellStillmanOLMichael BrownFort Valley State
Kelvin SheltonTuskegeeOLJustice ThomasMorehouse
Terrence OwensMilesOLMontell CollinsMiles
Braysean JonesMilesDLDarian HallTuskegee
Artrell McMillanCentral StateDLGrover StewartAlbany State
Julian MorganTuskegeeDLTayvin ZieglerCentral State
Jack NdemAlbany StateDLGabriel MassLane
Lydell SimonKentucky StateLBOsband ThompsonTuskegee
Jewell RatliffTuskegeeLBGervell MorganCentral State
Tavarius WashingtonAlbany StateLBTrevon SpencerKentucky State
Will LacyLaneDBOkoye BozemanCentral State
Brian WalkerFort Valley StateDBDashad TuckerCentral State
Michael RobinsonTuskegeeDBJermaine GrahamKentucky State
Nick ScottAlbany StateDBCedric CuffTuskegee
Juan SernaFort Valley StateKZachery Gayden-HolleyAlbany State
Juan SernaFort Valley StatePTemitayo ArgoroMorehouse
Corey SlaughterKentucky StateKRDarrius MitchellLane
Darius MitchellLanePRDevozea GainesTuskegee
EASTERN DIVISION                                           WESTERN DIVISION
Albany State University (6)                               Tuskegee University (10) **
Fort Valley State University (3)                         Miles College
Benedict College (2)                                          Stillman College
Morehouse College                                            Central State University
Clark Atlanta University                                    Kentucky State University
                                                                            Lane College


Rush, Nuggets will compete for GCAC and Red River titles in 2015

From Ed Cassiere
Xavier University Sports Information
NEW ORLEANS — Xavier University of Louisiana's men's and women's cross country teams will take shots at a pair of conference team championships this year.
     Joseph Moses, beginning his 11th season as head coach, announced Thursday the 2015 schedules of the Gold Rush and Gold Nuggets.
     Xavier recently announced its affiliation with the Red River Athletic Conference for cross country only in 2015. The Red River men's and women's champions will qualify automatically for the NAIA National Championships. But Xavier's longtime conference home, the Gulf Coast Athletic, still will offer a league meet, even though it is not an NAIA automatic-qualifying conference this season.
     The GCAC meet — which will be scored as part of the Choctaw Open in Clinton, Miss. — will be Oct. 17. The RRAC meet will be Nov. 6 in San Antonio, Texas.
     Xavier is the nine-time defending GCAC men's and women's team champion.
     For the second straight year, Xavier will begin the season at home in its Big Easy Opener Aug. 28 at nearby City Park. Xavier's other metro New Orleans competition will be Sept. 12 in the Louisiana Army National Guard / ROTC Wolf Pack Invitational in Metairie, La.
     Xavier will compete in two meets hosted by NCAA Division I schools: Sept. 4 in the Southern Miss Invitational and Sept. 19 in the LSU Invitational.
     Charlotte, N.C., will be the site of this year's NAIA national meet. Lawrence, Kan., was the site the previous two years.
     Xavier returns 2014 All-GCAC runners Christopher August and Brent Kitto from the men's team and Hannah Finnegan and Briana Simms from the women's. August and Finnegan were GCAC second-place finishers a year ago.