Monday, August 10, 2015

Howard Picked to Win 2015 SWAC Women's Soccer Title

Courtesy: Sam Peshek
Release: 08/10/2015

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced the 2015 Preseason All-SWAC Women’s Soccer Teams and predicted order of finish, as voted on by the league coaches and sport information directors.
For the second consecutive season, Alabama State University’s Aaliyah Lewis claimed Preseason Offensive Player of the Year. Last season, Lewis managed first-place positions for the Conference in seven different categories including points (45), goals per game (.84) and assists (11) - earning her the Offensive Player of the Year title. She remains ASU’s all-time scorer in a season (18) – a honor she received as a freshman in 2013 – and holds the school record for most total points in a season (45).
Lewis was also named to the Preseason All-SWAC First Team. Five other Hornets joined her with preseason awards including twin sister Ariela Lewis.
Prairie View A&M University secured a presence during the preseason as Breanna Powell was voted Defensive Player of the Year and added to the All-SWAC First Team. Powell started in 20 games last season, scoring one goal with four assists for six points. She led a defense that recorded seven shutouts.
The Panthers went on to capture one more All-SWAC First Team position and two All-SWAC Second Team spots. PVAMU was voted to finish fourth in the SWAC.
Rita Gyasi of Mississippi Valley State University managed the Preseason Goalie of the Year accolade after finishing the 2014 season with 86 saves (.835 save percentage) and four shutouts. Gyasi also enters her sophomore year as a Preseason All-SWAC First Teamer. Two additional Devilettes received preseason recognition – one on the first team and one on the second team.
In its second year with the SWAC, Howard University is predicted to finish first in the Conference with 154 points. Jackson State University was voted second with 130 tallies, followed by ASU with 129 points.
The entire predicted order of finish is listed below as well as the complete lists of first and second teamers.

Jackson State
Alabama State
Prairie View A&M
Texas Southern
Mississippi Valley State
Alabama A&M
Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Grambling State
Alcorn State

Offensive Player of the Year
Aaliyah LewisAlabama State
Defensive Player of the Year
Breanna PowellPrairie View A&M
Goalie of the Year
Rita GyasiMississippi Valley
First Team
Second Team
Alicia CooperPrairie View A&MEstelle EsperanceAlabama A&M
Aaliyah LewisAlabama StateHeather CraddockMississippi Valley
Nykosi SimmonsMississippi ValleyKayla EdwardsAlabama State
Jalana EllisJackson StateAriela LewisAlabama State
Shelbi Vienna-HallamAlabama StateKara Ballard*Prairie View A&M
Marlyn CampaTexas SouthernSie'Yara Wells*Jackson State
Sara Vaughan*HowardKhalisha Bond*Prairie View A&M
Dytria Ruddy*HowardKaedi Walther*Alabama State
Breanna PowellPrairie View A&MEmily ZiolkowskiAlabama State
Rayana SpeightJackson StateShelby CarbonSouthern
Makayla JohnsonTexas SouthernErica Cozart*Texas Southern
Kyleigh Io*Jackson State
Rita GyasiMississippi ValleyKylie ChristianJackson State
(* Indicates a tie)