Tuesday, July 11, 2017

CAU's Johnathon McCrary, Tuskegee's Osband Thompson Named SIAC Preseason Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year; Benedict Leads With Ten All-SIAC Picks


Clark Atlanta University's high-flying quarterback Johnathon McCrary and Tuskegee tackling machine Osband Thompson have been named the 2017 SIAC Preseason Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced Tuesday.

In the vote of SIAC head coaches and sports information directors, McCrary was chosen after a season in which he threw for nearly 2,000 yards and a league-leading 14 touchdowns last season for the Panthers.  The Vanderbilt transfer averaged 211.4 yards passing a game including SIAC single-game highs of 456 yards passing and five touchdowns.

Thompson has been a perennial star in each of his four seasons at Tuskegee.  Last season, he had 137 tackles, forced three fumbles and intercepted a pass for one of the nation's top teams in Tuskegee.  He had 67 solo tackles, 11.5 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks.   Thompson is the reigning SIAC Defensive Player of the Year and Division II Conference Commissioners Association Super Region 2 Defensive Player of the Year.

The Preseason All-SIAC First and Second Teams were also announced Tuesday with Benedict, picked to finish third in the East Division, leading the way with ten players chosen:

First Team

Johnathan McCrary, QB, Clark Atlanta, Sr.
Ryan Edwards, TE, Morehouse, Sr.
Okechi Ntiasagwe, WR, Benedict, Jr.
Dre Martin, WR, Clark Atlanta, Soph.
Marcus Holliday, RB, Lane, Jr.
Ger'Kerry Jackson, RB, Miles, Jr.
Tedrick Colfield, OL, Albany State, Sr.
Leeward Brown, OL, Tuskegee, Sr.
Marcus Campbell Jr., OL, Kentucky State, Jr.
Justin Brown, OL, Benedict, Jr.
Howard Bush, OL, Lane, Sr.
Charles Williams, DL, Benedict, Sr.
Rodriguez Jones, DL, Kentucky State, Sr.
Aaryn Guy, DL, Benedict, Jr.
Kaelan Bonds, DL, Miles, Sr.
David Smith, LB, Morehouse, Sr.
Osband Thompson, LB, Tuskegee, Sr.
Kendrick Frazier, LB, Benedict, Sr.
Edward Kirkland, DB, Benedict, Sr.
Jonah McCutcheon, DB, Tuskegee, Sr.
Travonte Brown, DB, Benedict, Soph.
Kenneth Morgan, DB, Clark Atlanta, Soph.
Nick Christiansen, K, Miles, Sr.
Juan Serna, P, Fort Valley State, Sr.
Ricci Nuckles, KR, Morehouse, Soph.
Deandre Jackson, PR, Clark Atlanta, Sr.

Second Team

Marcus Reynolds, QB, Lane, Jr.
Darius Nelson, TE, Benedict, Jr.
Jules St. Ge, WR, Kentucky State, Soph.
Javarrius Cheatham, WR, Tuskegee, Jr.
Jamari Clark, RB, Fort Valley State, Jr.
Lavelle Cloyd, RB, Kentucky State, Sr.
Darius Thomas, OL, Central State, Soph.
Craig Hinson, OL, Central State, Soph.
Christopher Ruffin, OL, Benedict, Jr.
Darius Preyer, OL, Clark Atlanta, Jr.
Lowell Richardson, OL, Tuskegee, Jr.
Antonio Johnson, DL, Morehouse, Jr.
Voris Bryant, DL, Morehouse, Sr.
Devonte West, DL, Fort Valley State, Sr.
Mekiye Kingston, DL, Clark Atlanta, Jr.
Zavondric Shingleton, LB, Albany State, Sr.
Anthony Hardy, LB, Miles, Sr.
Keonte Reynolds, LB, Kentucky State, Jr.
Nick Scott, DB, Albany State, Sr.
Ryan Luckett, DB, Kentucky State, Sr.
Robert Cummings, DB, Benedict, Soph.
Kentron James, DB, Fort Valley State, Jr.
Carlos Saldana, K, Clark Atlanta, Soph.
Nick Christiansen, P, Miles, Sr.
Deondre Jackson, KR, Clark Atlanta, Sr.
Ladarrell Pettway, PR, Tuskegee, Soph.

No comments:

Post a Comment