Friday, July 14, 2017

Grambling, Alcorn State Picked to Win SWAC West and East Divisions


With 14 players and the Southwestern Athletic Conference's Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, quarterback Devante Kincaide, defending SWAC champs Grambling has been picked to win the conference title again this year.

In a poll of SWAC head coaches and sports information directors, the Tigers, who haven't lost a SWAC game since 2014 were picked to win the West Division while the team they defeated in last year's SWAC title game, Alcorn State was chosen to win the East Division.  Grambling led all SWAC teams in votes with 85 while Alcorn State was second with 80.

The West Division predictions mirrored the exact finish in last year's SWAC West standings.  In the East, Alcorn is followed by Alabama State, Jackson State and Alabama A&M in the predictions.
Last season's standings in the had Alabama A&M, Alabama State and Jackson State following behind Alcorn State.

Here is the SWAC predicted order of finish:

East Division 

Alcorn State (80 votes)
Alabama State (66)
Jackson State (59)
Alabama A&M (45)
Mississippi Valley State (20)

West Division 

Grambling State (85 votes)
Southern (68)
Prairie View A&M (59)
Texas Southern (37)
Arkansas-Pine Bluff (21)

No comments:

Post a Comment